St. Cloud DUI Defense Lawyer
Helping Minnesotans Charged With DUI/DWI
A DUI is a serious charge that carries with it serious consequences. The penalties can severely impact your life, even if this is your first offense. Many people think they should just plead guilty, because there is nothing that can be done to defend against a DUI. That is simply not true. An experienced lawyer can mount a strong defense and help you minimize or even avoid punishment.
My name is Chuck Schiff, and I have more than 30 years of experience as a St. Cloud DUI attorney. I understand the potentially harmful effects a drunk driving arrest and conviction can have on a person — legally, socially and professionally. That is why I work diligently to protect the rights of my clients.
To find out more about how my experience and knowledge can help you, schedule a free consultation with me. Please call 888-257-5163, 320-281-4349 or contact my St. Cloud firm online.
Comprehensive, Thorough DUI Defense
I will investigate every aspect of your case, including analyzing police reports and obtaining video evidence, to begin building your case. There are a number of defenses that may be available to you, including:
- Improper traffic stop
- Errors in administering a field sobriety test
- Challenging the accuracy of Breathalyzer results
I will act quickly and skillfully on your behalf, putting together the best defense available in your situation. My goal is to help you avoid conviction altogether. If that is not possible, I will work vigilantly to minimize the penalties that are imposed.
Possible DUI/DWI Penalties
There are harsh laws governing DUI/DWI offenses in Minnesota. The penalties vary according to your circumstances and history. Here are some general guidelines:
- First offense: Up to 90 days in jail , up to a $1,000 fine, mandatory alcohol-related counseling classes and, if you have failed an alcohol concentration test, a license suspension of up to 90 days
- Second offense within 10 years: 30-day mandatory jail term, with up to one year possible, maximum fine of $3,000 and, if you have failed an alcohol concentration test, a driver's license suspension of 180 days
- Third offense within 10 years: 90-day mandatory jail term, with up to one year possible, maximum $3,000 fine and, if you have failed an alcohol concentration test, a driver's license suspension for one year (possible cancellation of driving privileges as "inimical to public safety")
- Fourth offense within 10 years: A fourth offense results in a felony DUI charge. Penalties include a mandatory 180 day jail term, with up to seven years possible, up to $14,000 in fines and cancellation of all driving privileges.
- Sobriety test refusal: This is a gross misdemeanor offense, carrying a maximum one year jail term, a $3,000 fine and an automatic license suspension for one year.
These penalties can be increased in certain circumstances, such as if your blood alcohol content was above 0.20 or there was a passenger under age 16 in your vehicle.
Contact Central Minnesota License Revocation Attorney Chuck Schiff
If you have been charged with a DUI, I can help you. To schedule a free initial consultation with me, call 888-257-5163, 320-281-4349 or contact me online. My office is conveniently located in downtown St. Cloud.